Congratulations to our Premier Alumni – Update

48 Athletes Selected for U.S. Women’s A2 Program

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (March 22, 2012) – USA Volleyball has selected 48 athletes with collegiate eligibility remaining to participate in this summer’s U.S. Women’s National A2 Team Program.

The 48 U.S. Women’s National A2 Team Program players hail from 34 different collegiate programs. The A2 program includes eight liberos, 12 middle blockers, 14 outside hitters, six opposites and eight setters.

Repeat A2 selections from 2011 include Kelli Fiegen (South Dakota State University, Parkston, S.D.), Natalie Hagglund (University of Southern California, Encinitas, Calif.), Madison Kingdon (University of Arizona, Phoenix, Ariz.), Rachel Krabacher (University of Dayton, Cincinnati, Ohio), Alexis Mathews (Michigan State University, Detroit, Mich.), Gwen Rucker (University of Louisville, Lexington, Ky.) and Ariel Turner (Purdue University, Highlands Ranch, Colo.).

Coaches selected for the 2012 U.S. Women’s National A2 Team Program are Northwestern University’s Keylor Chan, San Diego State University’s Deitre Collins-Parker, Georgia Tech’s Tanya Johnson, Pepperdine University’s Nina Matthies and Cal State Northridge’s Jeff Stork. One additional coaching position will be filled at a later date.

Training begins June 26 at Ohio Dominican University in Columbus, while the matches will be held June 30 to July 4 during the USA Volleyball Girls’ Junior National Championships (GJNC) at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. During the pre-tournament training session, the 48 athletes will be divided into four teams of 12 players that will play one match per day during the GJNC. All matches will be A2 competing against each other in a round-robin format followed by a semifinal and final round.

“I feel that moving the U.S. Women’s National A2 Program to be in conjunction with the USA Volleyball Girls’ Junior National Championships will be a very positive move for the program,” USA Volleyball Senior Director Tom Pingel said. “The exposure and impact that the program and its athletes will have at the GJNC will far surpass that experienced at the USA Volleyball Open National Championships with the adults competing. It will also be a ‘win’ for the GJNC event and its participants.”

The 2012 U.S. Women’s National A2 Team program was selected through the U.S. Women’s National Team Open Tryouts held Feb. 10-12 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. A record 207 athletes participated in the tryout. Athletes in college and with collegiate eligibility remaining for the 2012 collegiate season not selected to join the U.S. Women’s National Team were eligible for the U.S. Women’s A2 program.

In addition to the new competition format, the U.S. Women’s National A2 Program expanded from 36 players to 48 players in 2012.

Player (College, Position, Height, College Eligibility Left, Hometown)
Kaycee Acree (Western Michigan University, L, 5-7, 3, Muncie, Ind.)
Tiffany Baker (University of Tennessee, OH, 6-3, 3, Carrollton, Texas)
Maggie Brindock (University of Notre Dame, S, 5-11, 2, Rockwall, Texas)
Kirby Burnham (University of Southern California, OH, 6-3, 2, Newport Beach, Calif.)
Samantha Cash (Pepperdine University, MB, 6-3, 3, San Diego, Calif.)
Rachel Charles (Lehigh University, L, 5-7, 2, Farmington Hills, Mich.)
Karissa Cook (Stanford University, S, 5-11, 1, Santa Cruz, Calif.)
Alexa Dannemiller (University of Michigan, S, 5-11, 3, West Chester, Ohio)
Amy Dentlinger (Michigan State University, OH, 6-1, 1, Arcadia, Iowa)
Tori Dixon (University of Minnesota, OPP, 6-4, 2, Burnsville, Minn.)
Kaitlyn Early (Illinois State University, S, 5-9, 3, Wildwood, Mo.)
Kelli Fiegen (South Dakota State University, MB, 6-3, 1, Parkston, S.D.)
Sareea Freeman (Florida State University, MB, 6-4, 1, Fresno, Calif.)
Katelyn Fuller (University of Southern California, OPP, 6-3, 2, Olivenhain, Calif.)
Alexandra Gossen (Western Michigan University, OH, 6-0, 2, Evanston, Ill.)
Kristina Graven (St. Mary’s College, OH, 6-0, 2, San Jose, Calif.)
Natalie Hagglund (University of Southern California, L, 5-9, 2, Encinitas, Calif.)
Jennifer Hamson (Brigham Young University, OPP, 6-7, 2, Lindon, Utah)
Emily Hartong (University of Hawaii, OH, 6-2, 2, Los Alamitos, Calif.)
Haley Jacob (University of Oregon, L, 5-5, 1, League City, Texas)
Kierra Jones (Purdue University, MB, 6-1, 3, Fishers, Ind.)
Jennifer Keddy (Cal Poly, MB, 6-4, 1, Missoula, Mont.)
Madison Kingdon (University of Arizona, OH, 6-0, 3, Phoenix, Ariz.)
Stephanie Klefot (University of Kentucky, L, 5-6, 1, Louisville, Ky.)
Rachel Krabacher (University of Dayton, OH, 6-4, 1, Cincinnati, Ohio)
Molly Kreklow (University of Missouri, S, 6-0, 2, Delano, Minn.)
Megan Lambertson (North Dakota State University, MB, 6-0, 1, Litchfield, Minn.)
Karsta Lowe (UCLA, OPP, 6-4, 3, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.)
Chloe Mann (University of Florida, MB, 6-1, 2, Gainesville, Fla.)
Meghan Mannari (LSU, L, 5-9, 1, Frisco, Texas)
Ashley Mason (Missouri State University, L, 5-8, 2, Granby, Mo.)
Alexis Mathews (Michigan State University, MB, 6-3, 2, Detroit, Mich.)
Tenisha Matlock (Iowa State University, MB, 6-2, 2, North Platte, Neb.)
Emily McGee (University of North Carolina, OH, 5-10, 1, Naperville, Ill.)
Chaniel Nelson (University of North Carolina, OPP, 6-2, 3, Huntersville, N.C.)
Valerie Nichol (Purdue University, S, 6-0, 3, Normal, Ill.)
Alexis Olgard (University of Southern California, MB, 6-5, 2, Spokane, Wash.)
Mary Pollmiller (University of Tennessee, S, 5-10, 3, Littleton, Colo.)
Gwen Rucker (University of Louisville, MB, 6-2, 1, Lexington, Ky.)
Sara Shaw (University of Southern California, OH, 6-2, 2, Austin, Texas)
Hayley Spelman (Stanford, OPP, 6-6, 1, Las Vegas, Nev.)
Alyssa Squires (UC Irvine, OH, 6-1, 2, Santa Ynez, Calif.)
Ariel Turner (Purdue University, OH, 6-1, 1, Highlands Ranch, Colo.)
Lauren Wicinski (Northern Illinois University, OH, 6-2, 2, Geneva, Ill.)
Sarah Wickstrom (Florida State University, S, 5-11, 3, Stuart, Fla.)
Jennifer Wiker (Virginia Tech, OH, 6-3, 1, Charlotte, N.C.)
Kristin Winkler (UC Irvine, L, 5-10, 1, Los Altos, Calif.)
Carly Wopat (Stanford University, MB, 6-2, 2, Santa Barbara, Calif.)

Bill Kauffman
Associate Director, Communications
Phone: 719-228-6800

photos courtesy of University of Tennessee and Notre Dame

Comments are closed.